Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
S. Francesco Fuori Porta Collina Marche
S. Cristina della Fondazza Emilia-Romagna 1245 1799
S. Annunziata Tuscany
S. Maria di Betlem 1379
S. Caterina 1350 (circa) 1700-1799 (18th century)
Zwijveke Flanders (East) 1223 or earlier
Salettes 6U 1299
Poitiers (S. Trinite) 6R 970 (circa)
la Joie-Notre-Dame 6E 1252
Carlisle 2F 685; Refounded: circa 1125 refoundation for Augustinian canons. 800-899 (9th century) -- Destroyed
les Chases 6C 800 (circa). Refounded c. 1075 1075
S. Pere de Burgal Catalonia 948 (circa) Uncertain. May have ceased to be a female community in 1064, when the monastery was turned over to the authority of Count Ramon of Pallars Jussà. Community was secularized in 1570.
S. Bartolomeo Piedmont 1174 or earlier
S. Angelo in Cryptis Asculanis Marche
S. Mattia Emilia-Romagna 1254 1799
S. Maria a Troghi Tuscany 1384
S. Maria di Valfabbrica 1296 or earlier (needs verification) 1383 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Crepy-en-Valois 6Q 1184
Ter Beeck Limbourg 1237 or earlier
Monchy-le-Perreux 6Q 1238
le Lys 6T 1244
Dereham 2T 650-700 (circa) 875-900 (circa) or 974
Pfalzel 700 (circa) 1016; refounded as male house
Royat 6C 665 (circa) 900-930 (circa)
Purissima Concepcio Catalonia 1319 1822
S. Giovanni Evangelista Apulia 1133 still active
S. Maria di Belmonte Piedmont 1325 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Marcus Marche 1431 (28 March) or 1432 (June 23) -- Supressed by Pope Eugenius IV
S. Caterina Marche 850 or earlier still extant in the 19th c.
S. Nicolo 1460 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Maria de l‚Eula 1174 1567: repopulated with monks from Santes Creus.
Tückelhausen 1138 1360
Valenciennes 6M 680 (circa); Refounded in 749 for canons. 749 or earlier
Reims 6G 1220
Monce 6F 1212
Faremoutiers 6T 617 (circa)
Amour Dieu (l') 6G 1232
Boisset 6C 1323
Weiher 1198
Gageborough Offaly 1200 or later (needs verification)
S. Bartholomew's, Newcastle-upon-Tyne Northumberland 1086 or earlier; one source gives c. 1135 as a foundation date: possibly a re-foundation? Needs verification. 1540
S. Barbato or S. Benedetto Apulia 1182 or earlier
S. Clara Piedmont 1300 1802, but restored later in the 19th c.
S. Chiara Marche 1323 1514 -- taken away from the Clarisses due to lax morality and given to Florentine nuns. Supressed in 18th c., re-opened in 1830.
Mount of Olives The Mount of Olives is considered a holy place in both the Jewish and Christian traditions. It is unknown when monasteries were first constructed on the mountain, although this likely began in the fourth century.
S. Sebastiano 1500 or earlier
S. Andrea di Laterina Tuscany 1361 or earlier
S. Maria 1367 or earlier 1466 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Inzigkoven 1354 1802
S. Maria