Browse Monasticon

Titlesort descending Dedication Region Date Founded Date Terminated
"Augustinerinnenkloster" Germany, Bavaria 1460 or earlier 1572 (circa)
"Cella femminile" Marche 990
(name unknown) Marche 1269 (22 August)
(name unknown) Lazio 1285 or earlier
Aachen-Burtscheid S. Nicholaus, S. John the Baptist 1220 (female -- see 1803
Abbaye-aux-Bois 6Q 1202. Refounded: 16th century relocation to Paris.
Abbenrode Blessed Virgin Mary 1252 1554
Abbotsbury (needs verification) St. Peter 1026 or earlier According to Dubdale, the male monastery was surrendered in 1539
Aberdour 1486 1560
Abingdon St. Helen and the Holy Cross 939-940 946 or later
Achad Beithe Fermanagh
Aconbury Holy Cross Herefordshire 1199-1216 (circa), though some sources say after 1237. Needs verification. 1539 (needs verification)
Ad Luna female Lazio 461-468
Addrigoole Saint Bairre Laois 600 or earlier (needs verification) 1240 (circa)
Adelberg Swabia ca. 1178
Adelhausen Bavaria (Bayern) 1245 or earlier 1867
Admont S. Blasius, Virgin Mary 1074
Agata in Monte Piedmont 673 1782: the goods of the house were ceded to the civic hospital of S. Matteo. In 1813, the lands were bought by Count Giacomo Fantoni, who formed a public bath with the many rooms.
Aghade Carlow 1151 (circa) 1500 or earlier (needs verification)
Aglaien-sisterhood 1391 1580 (circa)
Agnetenberg S. Agnes(?) 1458 1812
Aguas Cálidas 790
Ahlen S. Mary Niedersachsen (lower Saxony), district Beckum 1468-1472 1814-16
Aix-en-Provence 6S 1303
Aland S. Mary Niedersachsen (lower Saxony), district Emden 1150 (circa) 1565 or earlier
Albaron 6S 1238
Alden-Eyck Limbourg 700-750. Refounded: 10th century refoundation for canons only. 936 or earlier
Ales 6I 1200-1299 (13th century). Refounded: Two communities of monastic women (Cistercians and Claires?) united in one urban convent in the 14th century.
Alix 6U 1285 or earlier
Alkmonton Saint Leonard Derbyshire 1100 (circa) 1474?
Almeneches 6N 600 (circa). Refounded: 1066. 900-999 (10th century)?
Alost Brabant 1096
Alpirsbach Holy Cross; Blessed Virgin Mary; Saint Benedict Baden-Württemberg 1095 1535
Alspach St. Matthew the Apostle Kaysersberg valley, Alsace 1289 for female community (ca. 1049 orig. foundation) 1789
Altdorf S. Gregory (974); S. Bartholomew (974); S. Michael (974); S. Cyriacus (1052) 974 (circa) 1251
Altenberg S. Nicholas; S. Michael 1179 or later 1802
Altenhohenau Bavaria (Bayern) 1235 1803
Altomünster S. Peter; S. Paul; Blessed Virgin Mary; S. Alto; S. Salvator 740 (circa) 1803
Alvingham Double Monastery Blessed Mary Lincolnshire 1148-5 1538
Alzey (Cistercian women) S. Spiritus (holy spirit), S. John 1262 (circa) 1564
Amesbury, Double Monastery S. Mary and S. Meilor Wiltshire 979 1177 refounded as part of the order of Fontevrault; 1186 nuns installed; final dissolution 1539.
Amiens 575 or earlier 900-999 (10th century); refounded for secular canons in 1073
Amilly 6F 1240 (circa)
Amorbach Blessed Virgin Mary Lower Franconia, in Bavaria 714; 1235 (female) 1431 (female); 1803 final dissolution
Amour Dieu (l') 6G 1232
Amtenhausen S. Sebastian (since 1300), later S. George, S. Fabian, and S. Lawrence 1111 (circa) 1806
Anargyroi Kosmas and Damian
Andecy 6G circa 1131
Andenne Namur 692 (circa); Refounded: by 1100. 883
Andernach S. Stephan (since circa 400); Blessed Virgin Mary, S. Thomas Becket (since 1482/3) 1129 1794