Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Regionsort ascending Date Founded Date Terminated
Drübeck S. Mary, John the Baptist, S. Crispin 877 or earlier
S. Sperandio 1262, November 14 1799 -- Monastery's goods were transferred to the orphanage of S. Anna
S. Maria de Penardell 1229 1436 or later: nuns went to <C1256>, and the property went to S. Maria de Roses (see "dependency of," below).
S. Croce al Ponte dei Galli 1276
S. Bartolomeo 1057, March 1410 (taken over by Augustinian order)
S. Maria del Ponte 1370 or earlier 1573 or later
Berau S. Nicolas 1100-1199 (12th century)
S. Lucia
Dietkirchen S. Peter 1015 or earlier
S. Maria di Betlem 1379
Engelthal Blessed Virgin Mary 1290 or earlier; 1268 continues
S. Caterina 1350 (circa) 1700-1799 (18th century)
Holzzelle 877
Bamberg, Michelsberg Saint Michael 1017 1802
S. Maria di Valfabbrica 1296 or earlier (needs verification) 1383 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Frankenberg S. Mary Magdalene; S. Peter 1235 1568
Bergen S. Cross 976 1552
Wunstorf S. Peter 871
S. Petronilla 1304 (as a female community -- male cistercians had been the community's first inhabitants, dating from sometime in the thirteenth century) 1400 or earlier
S. Cugat del Far 700 or earlier? 725 or later?
Gundheim 1150 (circa) 1290 (circa)
S. Chiara
Mount of Olives The Mount of Olives is considered a holy place in both the Jewish and Christian traditions. It is unknown when monasteries were first constructed on the mountain, although this likely began in the fourth century.
S. Sebastiano 1500 or earlier
S. Maria 1367 or earlier 1466 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Inzigkoven 1354 1802
S. Maria
Gehrden S. Mary, S. Peter, S. Paul 1134-5 (circa) 1810
S. Elisabetta 1230 1700-1799
Engelport 1272 (circa)
S. Sebastiano
Marienstift zum Kreuze auf dem Berge vor Hereford S. Mary 1011 1810
S. Francesco delle Donne 1253 (as a female community. Male community on the site dates from earlier) 1815. Became a women's school of some kind. Currently a ceramic factory.
Mariengarten Mary (needs verification) 1245 1543 (circa)
Klarissenkloster 1341 1803
Neuenheerse S. Mary, S. Saturnina 868 or earlier 1811
S. Nicolo 1460 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Maria de l‚Eula 1174 1567: repopulated with monks from Santes Creus.
Tückelhausen 1138 1360
S. Caterina della Picaia 1259 1595 (See
Benedetta 1453 (circa)
Anargyroi Kosmas and Damian
S. Niccola in Borgo San Sepolcro
Salmannshofen John the Baptist 1282 1401
Pillenreuth 1300-1399 (fourteenth century)
S. Godeberte 655
Galilaea 1472 (circa) 1811
Trebnitz 1203 1810
S. Claudio e S. Crociferi 1229 1255 (See
S. Agnes S. Agnes 1419 1812