Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
Champbenoit 6T 1138
Gesuate in Città di Castello
Gageborough Offaly 1200 or later (needs verification)
S. Bartholomew's, Newcastle-upon-Tyne Northumberland 1086 or earlier; one source gives c. 1135 as a foundation date: possibly a re-foundation? Needs verification. 1540
S. Barbato or S. Benedetto Apulia 1182 or earlier
S. Clara Piedmont 1300 1802, but restored later in the 19th c.
S. Chiara Marche 1323 1514 -- taken away from the Clarisses due to lax morality and given to Florentine nuns. Supressed in 18th c., re-opened in 1830.
S. Andrea di Laterina Tuscany 1361 or earlier
Autun (Notre-Dame) 6D 589 (circa)
SS. Ludovico e Alessio Emilia-Romagna 1798
Aumont 6Q 1140
Bedwyn 900 - 950 or before 1066 or earlier
Marche-les-Dames 6I 1236 or earlier
Avigny 6K 1140 (circa) 1200-1299 (13th century)
Londieu 6L 1281
Costejean 6L 1220 or earlier
S. Giovanni delle Rocche
Fooran Westmeath 1385 or earlier (needs verification) 1560-1600 (needs verification)
Eccles Berkshire 1156 or earlier 1609
Agata in Monte Piedmont 673 1782: the goods of the house were ceded to the civic hospital of S. Matteo. In 1813, the lands were bought by Count Giacomo Fantoni, who formed a public bath with the many rooms.
Convento del Terzo Ordine Marche
Antwerp (Soeurs Blanches) Antwerp 1480 (circa)
Hopels 1290
Val d'Osne 6G 1140
Pontrovard Flanders (West) 1235
S. Giuliana 1253, September 1810 - becomes a granary. In 1816 the properties revert to the church, but the nuns were expelled again in 1869, and the monastery became a military hospital. Became a church once again in 1937.
Bucilly 6Q 950 (circa) 1100 (circa)? Exact date uncertain, but in 1148, the house was refounded as a male Premonstratensian community.
Meung-sur-Loire 6F 1178 or earlier
S. Pedro de las Dueñas 1075
l'Etanche-sur-Saulx 6K 1148
Vinganya de Seros Catalonia 1236 1529
les Blanches 6N 1105 (circa)
S. Annunziata Piedmont 1458 (circa)
S. Agata Piedmont 1144 (circa) 1591/1802 (see "Order," below)
S. Vincenzo Marche 1257
Notre-Dame-la-Royale Ile-de-France 1236
Vignats 6N 1130 (circa)
Quesnoy 6M 1233
S. Maria degli Episcopi 1295 (circa) 1804 (circa) -- by Napoleon. A cemetery takes its place.
Nimes 6I 991
Gallargues 6I 1027
S. Clara Catalonia 1267 1850
Leau Brabant 1484
S. Cecilia Apulia 1160 (probable date) 1292-1303
S. Maria di Certosa Piedmont 1274 (November 2) 1537 or earlier: inhabited by monks until 1614.
S. Benedettino Marche 1033 1431 (28 March) or 1432 (23 June) -- Supressed by Pope Eugenius IV. Restored in 1625.
della Penitenza Tuscany 1372 or earlier
Montseau 6I 1129 or earlier
S. Thomas-les-Nonnains 6U 1206