Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
Áth dá Loarg Meath 440-500 (circa)
Ebchester Durham 660 (circa) 800-899 (9th century)
S. Martino Apulia 1165 1290 or earlier (See "Foundation Information," below)
Le Scalze Piedmont 1465 1855
S. Salvatore di Valle Marche 1008 or earlier 1104 or earlier (probable: No documentation after this date)
S. Jakob auf der Hülben 1190 On November 30, 1782, the Regierung began to consider termination of both Himmelpforte and S. Jakob. The latter convent’s life was officially ended with a decree from 18 September 1783 (Wiedemann 82).
di Boviglione 1266 or earlier
Maastricht 10F 750 (circa) 950 or earlier
Villebois 6U 1249 or earlier
Rekem Liege 1124 at Mont Cornillon. Refounded: 1140 at Rekem.
Gercy 6T 1269
Avenay 6G 660 (circa)
Brageac 6C 1100 (circa) as a female community -- see "foundation information," below
S. Domenico Piedmont 1455 1800 -- the nuns went to <C684>, and their monastery was supressed in 1810.
S. Margherita Marche
SS. Bernardino e Marta Emilia-Romagna
Dominae de Campo S. Petro Tuscany 1302 or earlier
S. Lucia 1344, July 30 Extant
S. Annunziata 1370-71 1862 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Barbe 9K 1389
S. Paul-les-Beauvais 6Q 670-700 (circa) 851; refounded c. 1036
Peyreux 6I 1254 or earlier
Hocht Limbourg 1218 (circa)
Besancon 6H 624 900-999 (10th century)? Refounded c. 1050 for Benedictine monks.
la Chapelle d'Oze 6G 1145
Aguas Cálidas 790
la Chana 6U 984 (circa)
S. Maria de Bovera Catalonia 1195 1237 - 1589: part of the remaining members went to <C1235>, and another part were incorporated by <C1250>.. in 1589, the three final nuns were transferred to <C1232>.
Cell-chatiern Cork
Nunburnholme Yorkshire 1189 or earlier 1536
S. Pietro Puellarm Piedmont 988 or earlier 1570 (April 14) -- see
S. Maria di Castel de' Britti Emilia-Romagna 1366
S. Bastiano Tuscany 1370 or earlier
Corbridge 786 or before 1066 or before
S. Caterina 1220
Fanciulle del Ceppo Tuscany
Basse-Fontaine 6G 1143
Chapelle-aux-Planches 6G 1137 or earlier 1200-1299 (13th century)
Marquette 6M 1226
Longchamp 6T 1260
Nevers (S. Etienne) 6D 500-599 (6th century) 1063 or earlier -- transformed into a male community
Cour-Notre-Dame-les-Gouvernay 6D 1225 or earlier
Mar de Deu de les Neus Catalonia 1233 Still Active
Cell Ingine Branin Laois
S. Peter and S. Paul Cheshire 875 or earlier 900 (circa), when it became a male monastery.
S. Lucia Apulia 1400-1499 (15th century)
S. Anastasio Piedmont 1008 1802 (August 16) -- Supressed
S. Maria Maddalena Marche
S. Maria degli Angeli 1313 or earlier