Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
Bruyeres-le-Chatel 6T 670 800-899 (9th century). Refounded in 1080 for Benedictine monks.
S. Gabriele & S. Bartolomeo Marche 1262, 11 March
Chartres 6F 1226
S. Margarida de Sescorts Catalonia 1277 or earlier 1570
S. Benedetto Tuscany
Cell Ingen n-Aeda Carlow
S. Maria Maddalena di Valdipietra Emilia-Romagna 1265
Monna Simone 1452 or earlier
Tarascon 6S 1358
S. Giovanni Battista Apulia 1866, July 7
Epagne 6Q 1178
S. Chiara Piedmont 1251 Still extant in Racconigi
Luneville 6K 1033 1135 given back to monks
S. Luca Marche 1408 (September 30) -- see "Incorportated By," below.
Cusset 6C 886 (circa)
le Perray-aux-Nonnains 6P 1247
S. Magdalena de Bell-lloc Catalonia 1248 1270 (see "Incorporated by," below)
Baile na Caillighe Limerick 1283 1548 or earlier
S. Maria delle Grazie 1497 or earlier
S. Sadurní de Collsabadell 998 or earlier (uncertain -- see "foundation information," below) 1041 or earlier (uncertain -- see "foundation information," below)
Zellingen 800 (circa) 900 (circa)
Val-Ste-Agnes Brabant 1414
Maagdendale Hainault 1231 or earlier
S. Mary, Chichester Sussex 1229 or earlier
Reconfort 6D 1235
S. Maria Maddalena Piedmont
Moleze 6D 1189 or earlier
S. Maria di Chiaravalle Marche
Ezanville 6T 1080 (circa)
Bois-Goyer 6P 1140 or earlier
Church of the Holy Maccabees 1134-1178
Cluain Moccu Nois Offaly 1026 1500 or later
Tynemouth Northumberland 635-650 865-875; refounded c. 1090 as a male Benedictine community, which was terminated in 1536.
S. Maria Maddalena 1271, June 8
S. Pierre-le-haut 595-610
Villiers-aux-Nonnains 6T 1220 (circa)
Rothem Limbourg 1239 or earlier
S. Maria Piedmont 1100 (circa)
Noyon 6Q 658 (circa) 800-899 (9th century) -- disbanded
S. Giovanni Marche
Ghislenghien Hainault 1126
Iuxta Thermas Agrippianas female (needs verification) LZ 599 or earlier
Brive-la-Gaillarde 6J 1296 or earlier
S. Chiara delle Pieve di Cento Emilia-Romagna 1790s
S. Leonards 1200-1250 (circa) 1434: Annexed to Perth Charter house.
S. Maria della Carità 1217-1229 (see 1488/1862 (see
S. Tommaso al Cavaglione 1193 (June) 1789 (See "Present State of Medieval Structure," below)
Wauthier-Braine Brabant 1228 (circa)
Mons (S. Waudru) Hainault 680 (circa)
S. Andrea Apulia 1200 or earlier