Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
S. Cosma e S. Damiano in Mica Aurea LZ 1234 1810 (later revived)
Adelberg Swabia ca. 1178
Ognisanti Tuscany 1325 or earlier 1412 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Giorgio 1070
S. Maria Vallis Gaudii 1244 (circa)
S. Maria 1244, June 14
Boneffe Namur 1227. Refounded: 1413 handed over to male Cistercians. 1413
S. Margherita 1784, or 1815 (See "Incorporated By," below)
Solieres Liege 1229 or earlier
Puits d'Orbe 6D 1112-1125
le Lieu-Dieu 6D 1180 (circa)
Honnecourt 6M 691 (circa) 800-899 (9th century)? By 911, the community had been refounded as a house for monks only.
Compiegne 6Q 1240 or earlier
S. Nicolau de Camprodon Catalonia 1283 or earlier 1581, because of low population. For remaining nuns, see "Incorporated by," below.
S. Giacomo Apulia 900-930 (circa) 1919
S. Eufemia Piedmont
S. Liberato Marche
S. Margherita Emilia-Romagna 1798
Bodmin Uncertain uncertain
S. Leonardo 1492 or earlier
Hoydonck 10G 1144
Tusson 6R 1114 (circa)
Orp Brabant 692 (circa) 799 or earlier?
Marey 6K 1150-1178
l'Encloitre-en-Gironde 6R 1109 (circa)
S. Benedetto (already S. Biagio) Apulia 1109 1860-1900 (circa)
Terziarie di S. Francesco Piedmont 1433
Jemgum 1284
S. Maria della Palomba LZ 1341 1502 -- properties given to male monastery (had been terminated in early 14th century, then restored temporarily from 1483-1502)
Durham 1018 or before 1066 or before
S. Caterina Vecchia 1258 or earlier 1643: The war between Pope Urban VIII and the Duke of Tuscany put the community in danger, so they moved to the city, taking over an older community (probably named S. Chiara) and refounding it as <C2671>.
Vernaison 6U 1160 (circa)
la Roquette 6S 1255 (circa)
Netlieu 6I 1195
Fossemore 6D 1132 (circa) at Dilo. Refounded: circa 1140 at Fossemore. 1300-1350
le Vivier 6M 1228
Bouhan 6M 1223-1224 1395: poverty sends abbess and only other nun to Blandecques for good
Strune 1283
Senchell Dumaigi Sligo 440-500 (circa)
Catune Staffordshire
Mangotsfield female Gloucestershire
S. Trinità Piedmont 1263 (December 16)
S. Agnese Marche 1367 (see "Incorporated By," below).
St. Peter of Olomouc Moravia Before 1206
S. Nicholas de Ortis 1354 or earlier
Moreaucourt 6Q 1146 or earlier
L'Ermite Brabant 1399
S. Silvane 6A 1020 (circa)
Paris (Filles-Dieu) 6T
Gwitherin 600-699 (7th century) 800-899 (9th century -- needs verification)