Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Regionsort descending Date Founded Date Terminated
Berau S. Nicolas 1100-1199 (12th century)
Drolshagen S. Mary, S. Clemens 1235 1803
S. Lucia
S. Elisabetta 1230 1700-1799
Engelport 1272 (circa)
Klarholz S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1133 1803, May 2
S. Sebastiano
S. Francesco delle Donne 1253 (as a female community. Male community on the site dates from earlier) 1815. Became a women's school of some kind. Currently a ceramic factory.
Mariengarten Mary (needs verification) 1245 1543 (circa)
Rupertsberg S. Mary; S. Martin (a lesser patron of the church at Rupertsberg); S. Rupert; S. Hildegard 1147 1803
Klarissenkloster 1341 1803
S. Nicolo 1460 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Maria de l‚Eula 1174 1567: repopulated with monks from Santes Creus.
Tückelhausen 1138 1360
Church of the Holy Maccabees 1134-1178
Mount of Olives The Mount of Olives is considered a holy place in both the Jewish and Christian traditions. It is unknown when monasteries were first constructed on the mountain, although this likely began in the fourth century.
S. Sebastiano 1500 or earlier
S. Maria 1367 or earlier 1466 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Inzigkoven 1354 1802
Marienthal S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1177 or earlier 1499 switched to a male crusading order; final dissoulution 1804
S. Maria
Trebnitz 1203 1810
S. Claudio e S. Crociferi 1229 1255 (See
S. Agnes S. Agnes 1419 1812
S. Bartolomeo de Nava 1252 or earlier
Tutti i Santi
S. Agnese 1296 or slightly earlier
Jörresbusch S. Gregory
Heilig Grab 1365 (circa) 1803
S. Stephan S. Stephan 969 1802-3
S. Maria delle Vergini 1428 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Magdalena i S. Margarita de Castellbisbal late 13th century
Thulba 1127 1525
S. Mauritius 1141-1144 (circa)
Anargyroi Kosmas and Damian
S. Niccola in Borgo San Sepolcro
Salmannshofen John the Baptist 1282 1401
Pillenreuth 1300-1399 (fourteenth century)
Dalheim S. Mary; in 1429, S. Peter and S. Antony 1264 (circa) 1369-1429 for female community; final dissolution, 1803
S. Godeberte 655
S. Pierre-le-haut 595-610
S. Leonards 1200-1250 (circa) 1434: Annexed to Perth Charter house.
S. Maria della Carità 1217-1229 (see 1488/1862 (see
Elten S. Vitus 967 1811
Kirchback S. Mary and S. Michael 725 (circa)
S. Tommaso al Cavaglione 1193 (June) 1789 (See "Present State of Medieval Structure," below)
Monna Simone 1452 or earlier
Gnadenthal Blessed Virgin Mary 1300 or earlier
S. Ursula S. Ursula 1335-1349 (circa) 1803; reestablished in 1828 and continues
S. Martin S. Martin 1263 1533