Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Regionsort ascending Date Founded Date Terminated
S. Caterina de Monte Sinai 1226 1470 (See
Heilig Kreuz Holy Cross (?) 1464 (circa)
Unterzell S. Maria (Mary); S. Caecilia 1200 (circa); 1130 according to Link 1803
Kirchback S. Mary and S. Michael 725 (circa)
Alix 1285 or earlier
Aachen-Burtscheid S. Nicholaus, S. John the Baptist 1220 (female) 1803
Ales 1200-1299 (13th century). Refounded: Two communities of monastic women (Cistercians and Claires?) united in one urban convent in the 14th century.
Abbaye-aux-Bois 1202. Refounded: 16th century relocation to Paris.
Anizy-le-Chateau 900-999 (10th century) 1265
Heiningen S. Mary, S. Peter and S. Paul 993-1002 (circa) 1810
Admont S. Blasius, Virgin Mary 1074
Albaron 1238
Angers Virgin Mary 1028 (July 14) 1789 (needs verification)
Andecy circa 1131
Amour Dieu (l') 1232
Amilly 1240 (circa)
Amiens 575 or earlier 900-999 (10th century); refounded for secular canons in 1073
Las Huelgas Santa María la Real 1187, January 2 Still extant
Almeneches 600 (circa). Refounded: 1066. 900-999 (10th century)?