Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Regionsort descending Date Founded Date Terminated
Bredelar S. Laurentius; later Mary 1169-1170 1196
S. Margherita 1784, or 1815 (See "Incorporated By," below)
Elsey S. Mary, S. Sebastian 1223 or earlier; 1378 (women only) 1808-1811
Bodmin Uncertain uncertain
S. Leonardo 1492 or earlier
Frauensee Blessed Virgin Mary 1202 (circa) 1540
Gnadenthal convent: S. Elisabeth; church: S. John the Baptist and S. John the Apostle 1276; 1313, according to Kramer. 1802-3
S. María de Piasca Virgin Mary 941, June 11 1075-1979 (See "Incorporated By," below)
Jemgum 1284
Durham 1018 or before 1066 or before
S. Caterina Vecchia 1258 or earlier 1643: The war between Pope Urban VIII and the Duke of Tuscany put the community in danger, so they moved to the city, taking over an older community (probably named S. Chiara) and refounding it as <C2671>.
Marienrode Blessed Virgin Mary 1125 (male); 1988 (female) 1806 (male); continues (female)
S. Maria and S. Theodor S. Mary; S. Theodore (at least since the mid-fourteenth century); S. John the Evangelist 1157 (1273, according to Krämer) 1554 (1802, according to Krämer)
Pfalzel 700 (circa) 1016; refounded as male house
S. Nicholas de Ortis 1354 or earlier
S. Maria Magdalena (Regensburg) S. Mary Magdalene; S. Klara (Clare) 1228; before 1233 continues
Altomünster S. Peter; S. Paul; Blessed Virgin Mary; S. Alto; S. Salvator 740 (circa) 1803
Sion 1215 (circa); 1238, according to McDonnell.
Weiher 1198
Maihingen 1473
S. Caterina della Scala 1421
S. Catarina 1309
Bottenbroich Blessed Virgin Mary 1231 1448 (circa) for female community; 1802 final dissolution
Gesuate in Città di Castello
S. Walburg S. Walburg(a) 1035 (see "foundation information," below) 1803-6
Bedwyn 900 - 950 or before 1066 or earlier
S. Chiara Clare of Montefalco (after 1492) 1290
Frauenalb Blessed Virgin Mary 1180 1598 / 1803
S. Giovanni delle Rocche
S. Pedro de las Dueñas 1075
Hopels 1290
Beata Antonia 15th c.?
S. Giuliana 1253, September 1810 - becomes a granary. In 1816 the properties revert to the church, but the nuns were expelled again in 1869, and the monastery became a military hospital. Became a church once again in 1937.
S. Maria Magdalena Mary Magdalene (? requires verification) 1224 1525 (circa)
Himmelthron Blessed Virgin Mary 1343-1348 1525
Eibingen 1148; refounded in 1165 1802
Notre Dame du Lys 1244
S. Maria del Paradiso 1291 (circa) 1459 (See "Incorporated By," below)
Heiligen Kreuz (Holy Cross) Holy Cross 1233 continues
Altenberg S. Nicholas; S. Michael 1179 or later 1802
S. Maximin 1186 or earlier
S. Bartolomeo in regione collis 1409 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Maria Maddalena 1316-17 1898: The community closed temporarily between 1810 and 1814. In 1823 the nuns voted for the common life, and no new recruits were to be accepted. I 1898, only 8 nuns remained, and the monastery was purchased by Leo XIII for 15,000 scudi.
Marienberg Blessed Virgin Mary; S.Eucharius 1121 1802
S. Sperandio 1271
Drolshagen S. Mary, S. Clemens 1235 1803
Berkeley Uncertain 1019 - 1053
S. Benedetto e Agnese di Camiano 1288 or earlier (Cottineau says 1268) 1411 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Marienberge 1465 1527