Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Regionsort descending Date Founded Date Terminated
Wilberghaus 1439 (circa) 1579
Corbridge 786 or before 1066 or before
S. Caterina 1220
Lüne S. Mary (1172) and S. Bartholomew (1200); (see also miscellaneous information) 1172 (circa) still extant
Geldern Blessed Virgin Mary 1300-1399 (14th century)
S. Elisabeth S. Elizabeth 1256 1812
S. Maria degli Angeli 1313 or earlier
Herzebrock S. Christina, S. Petronella 860 (840?) 1803, May 2
Kempen S. Anne 1421 or earlier? 1802
Karlsburg Blessed Virgin Mary (?) 741 1350 (circa)
Bebaia Elpis Mother of God Bebaia Elpis "Sure Hope" 1327-35
Na Frantisku ca. 13th century
S. Maria del Monte 1244
Escherde Mary (1236); John the Baptist and John the Apostle (1262) 1203 1625; reestablished 1652. The convent was finally dissolved in 1810.
Niedermünster Ascension of Mary (Maria Himmelfahrt); S. Erhard after 750 1802/3
S. Petronilla 1399: Pope Boniface IX gave the properties to the canons of the Cathedral Chapter of Todi
S. Anna 1385
Stern 1312
Agnetenberg S. Agnes(?) 1458 1812
Weihenberg S. Cosmas and S. Damian; later S. Veit 1145 1410-1448
Chester (Early Foundation) St. Werburg? 1066, or before, possibly as early as 875 1093
S. Agnese 1490 or earlier
Isenhagen S. Mary and S. John 1243 (circa) male; between March 24, 1259-September 14, 1261 female still extant
Geisenfeld 1037 1803
Marienstein S. Mary (the visitation of Mary); S. John the Evangelist; all Apostles and Evangelists 1460 1804-1807
Jouarre 630 (circa)
S. Gregorio 1316 or earlier
Geseke S. Cyriacus; Blessed Virgin Mary 946-952 (circa) 1823
Kaufungen Holy Cross; S. Salvator; S. Mary; S. Peter; All Saints 880-898 (circa) 1527
Kitzingen Blessed Virgin Mary 734-749 1544
Himmelpforte (St Agnes) On August 11, 1331, the Himmelpforte church was consecrated by St. Dietrich, Bishop of the Church of Dyonisin. The church was dedicated to S. Agnes and Katharina (Zak 166). The later appended chapel contained an altar dedicated to S. Katharina, and was c. 1235 (Zak 143); it was the fifth oldest Viennese women’s house (141). September 28, 1783 (Schimmer 383)
S. Margherita 1271
Buxtehude, Neukloster Domina nostra (Mary); John the Evangelist 1270 1705/7 with the death of the last inhabitant of the community
Obermünster Ascension of Mary (Maria Himmelfahrt) circa 780 1802
Marienbeck Blessed Virgin Mary 1449
S. Maria dentro la Città 1364 1408 (See "Incorporated by," below)
S. Agostino 1379
Strune 1283
Dorstadt Holy Cross, Blessed Virgin Mary, and S. Trinitas 1189 1545
Wechterswinkel The Holy Trinity and S. Margaret, S. Mary (by 1150); currently S. Cosmas and Damian 1143 (circa) 1592
Gwitherin 600-699 (7th century) 800-899 (9th century -- needs verification)
Cheddar 871 or before 1066 or later
Montesanto 1235, October 24
Ebstorf S. Mauritius 1160 (circa) still extant
Engelporten S. Michael; All Saints; S. Jacob; S. Catherine of Sienna 1280 (circa)
Marienburg S. Peter and Paul 1142 or later 1806
S. Mostiola 1296 or earlier
Andlau S. Peter, S. Fabian, S. Felicitas 887 (circa) 1789
Kamp 1378