Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Regionsort descending Date Founded Date Terminated
S. Caterina della Picaia 1259 1595 (See
Abbenrode Blessed Virgin Mary 1252 1554
S. Angelo di Orsano
S. Apollonia
Dünnwald S. Nicholas 1143/48 (circa: see "foundation information," below) 1803
Galilaea 1472 (circa) 1811
Wilberghaus 1439 (circa) 1579
Corbridge 786 or before 1066 or before
S. Caterina 1220
Geldern Blessed Virgin Mary 1300-1399 (14th century)
Herford S. Mary; S. Pusinna 823 (circa -- although Schmitz-Kallenberg puts the date at c. 789) 1631; 1802
S. Elisabeth S. Elizabeth 1256 1812
S. Maria degli Angeli 1313 or earlier
Folkestone 640 or earlier; refounded: 1095 as priory of Benedictine monks. May have been a male community by mid-9th century. 871 or after
Kempen S. Anne 1421 or earlier? 1802
Ridigippi 853-876
Karlsburg Blessed Virgin Mary (?) 741 1350 (circa)
Bebaia Elpis Mother of God Bebaia Elpis "Sure Hope" 1327-35
Na Frantisku ca. 13th century
S. Maria del Monte 1244
Niedermünster Ascension of Mary (Maria Himmelfahrt); S. Erhard after 750 1802/3
Benedetta 1453 (circa)
S. Petronilla 1399: Pope Boniface IX gave the properties to the canons of the Cathedral Chapter of Todi
S. Anna 1385
Agnetenberg S. Agnes(?) 1458 1812
Fröndenberg S. Mary, S. Mauritius 1230 (circa) 1811
Weihenberg S. Cosmas and S. Damian; later S. Veit 1145 1410-1448
Chester (Early Foundation) St. Werburg? 1066, or before, possibly as early as 875 1093
S. Agnese 1490 or earlier
Geisenfeld 1037 1803
Herdecke S. Mary, S. Frederuna, and S. Benedict 810-819 (circa) 1811
Marienstein S. Mary (the visitation of Mary); S. John the Evangelist; all Apostles and Evangelists 1460 1804-1807
S. Gregorio 1316 or earlier
Kaufungen Holy Cross; S. Salvator; S. Mary; S. Peter; All Saints 880-898 (circa) 1527
Böddeken S. Meinolphus; S. Mary and S. John 837 1409
Kitzingen Blessed Virgin Mary 734-749 1544
Himmelpforte (St Agnes) On August 11, 1331, the Himmelpforte church was consecrated by St. Dietrich, Bishop of the Church of Dyonisin. The church was dedicated to S. Agnes and Katharina (Zak 166). The later appended chapel contained an altar dedicated to S. Katharina, and was c. 1235 (Zak 143); it was the fifth oldest Viennese women’s house (141). September 28, 1783 (Schimmer 383)
S. Margherita 1271
Obermünster Ascension of Mary (Maria Himmelfahrt) circa 780 1802
S. Apollinare 1229 (1201 according to Bigaroni); Second mounastery built in the city in 1286. They could not build earlier because <C1460> had been prohibited by Pope Clement IV from building church or monastery in the vicinity. Honorius IV later reduced distance. 1766, but restored in 1881.
Marienbeck Blessed Virgin Mary 1449
S. Maria dentro la Città 1364 1408 (See "Incorporated by," below)
S. Agostino 1379
Dorstadt Holy Cross, Blessed Virgin Mary, and S. Trinitas 1189 1545
Freckenhorst S. Mary, S. Peter, S. Boniface 851 (circa) 1810-11
Wechterswinkel The Holy Trinity and S. Margaret, S. Mary (by 1150); currently S. Cosmas and Damian 1143 (circa) 1592
Cheddar 871 or before 1066 or later
Montesanto 1235, October 24
Engelporten S. Michael; All Saints; S. Jacob; S. Catherine of Sienna 1280 (circa)