Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
S. Petronilla 1304 (as a female community -- male cistercians had been the community's first inhabitants, dating from sometime in the thirteenth century) 1400 or earlier
Mureau 6K 1147 (circa) 1200-1299 (13th century)
S. Cugat del Far 700 or earlier? 725 or later?
Paraclet-des-Champs 6Q 1219
Gundheim 1150 (circa) 1290 (circa)
les Mazures 6G 1274 or earlier
Herentals Antwerp 1410
Epinlieu Hainault 1216
Bertricourt 6Q 1124 at Amiens. Refounded: 1148 at Bertricourt. 1200 (circa)
S. Ruggero Apulia uncertain (in the 5th century when Bishop Ruggero of Canne lived or under the name S. Stefano in the 10th century) 1811
Name unknown Piedmont 1093 or earlier
S. Maria de Cantiro Marche 1271 1300-1399 (see "Incorporated By," below).
San Salvatore and Giulia Lombardy 753 1805
S. Bartolomeo 1057, March 1410 (taken over by Augustinian order)
Vezelay 6D 867 (circa) 890 (circa)
S. Maria del Ponte 1370 or earlier 1573 or later
Rouen (S. Amand) 6O 1030
Feucheres 6G 1129-1135 at Tongerloo. Refounded: 1179 at Feucheres. 1200-1299 (13th century)
S. Lucia
Fours 6I 1238. Refounded: Moved to Avignon in 1368.
Ath/Aat Namur 1234 or earlier
le Boulay 6F 1191-1197
Eve 1292
Enach Árd Sligo
Horsley Surrey 1199
S. Vittore Piedmont 1430
S. Croce Marche 1363 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Agnesia alla Sperandia Tuscany 1325 or earlier still extant
S. Cristina della Fondazza Emilia-Romagna 1245 1799
Clairefontaine Luxembourg 1247-1250
S. Maria di Betlem 1379
S. Michel-du-Bois 6N 1150 (circa)
Port-Royal 6T 1204
S. Caterina 1350 (circa) 1700-1799 (18th century)
Handbury 2Y 680 (circa) 800-899 (9th century)
Beaupre-sur-la-Lys 6M 1204
Cavaillon 6S 1252
Mare de Déu de la Serra Catalonia 1296 Still active
Ballymacadane Cork 1450 (circa) (needs verification) 1539 (needs verification)
Penitent Sisters, Worcester female. Worcestershire 1240 or earlier
S. Antimo Piedmont 1511 -- supressed by Jules II
S. Bartolomeo Marche 1268
S. Mattia Emilia-Romagna 1254 1799
Moulins Namur 1233 1414 women removed in favor of monks
S. Maria di Valfabbrica 1296 or earlier (needs verification) 1383 (see "Incorporated By," below)
le Jardinet Namur 1232 or earlier 1440 (circa) given to monks, nuns removed
S. Francesco delle Donne 1253 (as a female community. Male community on the site dates from earlier) 1815. Became a women's school of some kind. Currently a ceramic factory.
Sorps 6S 1255 1437
la Puye 6R 1106 (circa)
Klarissenkloster 1341 1803