Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
Bungay S. Mary and the Holy Cross Suffolk 1183 (nuns installed); (original foundation 1175 or 1176) 1536
Neuenwalde S. Mary and the holy cross; Mary Magdalene since the sixteenth century 1219-1227 (circa) 1530-1630 (Catholic); continues (see miscellaneous field)
Bruisyard S. Mary Annunciation Suffolk 1364-6 1539
Ankerwyke S. Mary Magdalene Buckinghamshire About 1160 (circa) 1536
S. Mary Magdalene S. Mary Magdalene Wiltshire 1307 or earlier
Convent of Mary Magdalene S. Mary Magdalene 1307 1537
S. Mary Magdalene S. Mary Magdalene Hampshire 1174-89
Sewardsley S. Mary Magdalene Northamptonshire 1154-89 1536
S. Magdalena S. Mary Magdalene 1240 1279 (female)
S. Mary Magdalene S. Mary Magdalene Gloucestershire 1150 (circa)
Rusper S. Mary Magdalene Sussex 1189-1199, though one source dates the foundation to before 1174. 1537
Ickleton S. Mary Magdalene Cambridge 1163 or earlier 1536
Bristol S. Mary Magdalene Gloucestershire 1173 1536
S. Maria Magdalena S. Mary Magdalene (needs verification) 1289 or earlier 1651
S. Maria Magdalena (Regensburg) S. Mary Magdalene; S. Klara (Clare) 1228; before 1233 continues
Frankenberg S. Mary Magdalene; S. Peter 1235 1568
Waterbeach S. Mary Misericordia and S. Clare Cambridge 1293-4 1351
Easebourne S. Mary of the Nativity Sussex 1248 or earlier 1535
Llanllugan S. Mary the Virgin Montgomery 1170-1190, though one source puts the foundation as late as 1236 1536
Romsey S. Mary, Elfrida , Elfleda Hampshire 967 (although tradition dates foundation to 907) 1539
Canonsleigh S. Mary, John the Evangelist, and Etheldreda ( Audrey ) Devonshire 1282 1538
Malgarten S. Mary, (John the Baptist, from 1651) 1170 (circa) 1803
Wilton S. Mary, Bartholomew, and after 984 to Edith. Wiltshire 830 (circa) 1539
Heiligen Kreuz S. Mary, Holy Cross, 1297 Apostle Bartholomew 1230 (circa) 1545 (Cistercian); after 1944
Drübeck S. Mary, John the Baptist, S. Crispin 877 or earlier
Esholt S. Mary, S. Leonard and S. James Yorkshire 1172 or earlier 1539
Drolshagen S. Mary, S. Clemens 1235 1803
Catesby S. Mary, S. Edmund and S. Thomas Mar Northamptonshire 1175 (circa) 1536
Herdecke S. Mary, S. Frederuna, and S. Benedict 810-819 (circa) 1811
Ödingen S. Mary, S. John the Baptist 1000 (circa) 1533
Gokirch S. Mary, S. John the Baptist, S. Odalricus 1228 1810, December 14
Marienthal S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1177 or earlier 1499 switched to a male crusading order; final dissoulution 1804
Klarholz S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1133 1803, May 2
Gevelsberg S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1230 (circa) 1812
Wienhausen S. Mary, S. Laurentius, S. Alexander 1221-1228/9 still extant
Fröndenberg S. Mary, S. Mauritius 1230 (circa) 1811
Heiningen S. Mary, S. Peter and S. Paul 993-1002 (circa) 1810
Freckenhorst S. Mary, S. Peter, S. Boniface 851 (circa) 1810-11
Gehrden S. Mary, S. Peter, S. Paul 1134-5 (circa) 1810
Neuenheerse S. Mary, S. Saturnina 868 or earlier 1811
Elsey S. Mary, S. Sebastian 1223 or earlier; 1378 (women only) 1808-1811
Meschede S. Mary, S. Walburgis 860 (circa) 1310 -- community transferred to male canons; final dissolution October 1805.
Dalheim S. Mary; in 1429, S. Peter and S. Antony 1264 (circa) 1369-1429 for female community; final dissolution, 1803
Niederviehbach S. Mary; S. Augustine 1296 1803
Himmelspforten S. Mary; S. John the Evangelist; (today S. Nicholas) 1231 1804, May 5
Nendorf S. Mary; S. Martin (1202) 1200 (circa) 1542 (circa); certainly by 1576
Rupertsberg S. Mary; S. Martin (a lesser patron of the church at Rupertsberg); S. Rupert; S. Hildegard 1147 1803
Herford S. Mary; S. Pusinna 823 (circa -- although Schmitz-Kallenberg puts the date at c. 789) 1631; 1802
Hilwartshausen S. Mary; S. Stephan; S. Vitus 960-963 1610
S. Maria and S. Theodor S. Mary; S. Theodore (at least since the mid-fourteenth century); S. John the Evangelist 1157 (1273, according to Krämer) 1554 (1802, according to Krämer)