Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
Hospital of S. Mary Magdalen S. Mary Magdalene Norfolk 1145 1549. The buildings were sacked during Ket's Rebellion in 1549.
Kemnade S. Mary (1004); Margaret (1150/60) 959-965 1579
Lüne S. Mary (1172) and S. Bartholomew (1200); (see also miscellaneous information) 1172 (circa) still extant
Bergedorf S. Mary (1194/98) 1192-1198 1217-1226
Lammspringe S. Mary (872, 1138, 1335); Hadrian (872); Dionysios (mentioned 1178) 845 (circa)
Marienbrunn S. Mary (?) 1223 1802
Lichtenthal S. Mary (Blessed Virgin Mary) 1245 1789 (circa)
Kreuztal S. Mary (Blessed Virgin Mary) 1237-1243 1582
Sonnefeld S. Mary (Blessed Virgin) 1262 1525-1531
Königshofen an der Heide S. Mary (Maria) 1422 1478, female; (1495) male
S. Marienstern S. Mary (needs verification) 1248, October 13 still extant
S. Marien (S. Mary's) S. Mary (the convent also had altars to S. Pantaleon, Anna, and Thomas) 973 (939, according to Kramer) 1570, October 1
Marienstein S. Mary (the visitation of Mary); S. John the Evangelist; all Apostles and Evangelists 1460 1804-1807
Tarrant S. Mary and All Saints Dorsetshire 1196 (circa) 1539
Chatteris S. Mary and All Saints Cambridge 1006-16 (though one source attributes foundation to after 1066) 1538
Armathwaite S. Mary and Jesus Christ Cumberland 1200 or earlier 1537
Wintney S. Mary and S. Mary Magdalene and S. John the Baptist Hampshire 1154-1161. 1536
Woodstock S. Mary and S. Mary Magdalene Oxford 1235 or earlier
Marrick S. Mary and Andrew of Marrick, to whom the original parish church was dedicated. Yorkshire 1154-58 or earlier 1540
Kilburn S. Mary and John the Baptist Middlesex 1130 (circa) 1536
Nunappleton S. Mary and John the Evangelist Yorkshire 1148-54 1539
Kington S. Michael S. Mary and Michael (needs further research to verify). Wiltshire 1155 (circa) 1536
Malling S. Mary and S. Andrew Kent 1090-95 (circa); 1077-1108 1538
Carrow S. Mary and S. John Norfolk 1136 (circa), but re-founded circa 1145-1147 1536 - 8
Flixton S. Mary and S. Andrew Yorkshire 925-940 (traditional date) 1537 (needs verification)
Blackborough S. Mary and S. Catherine Norfolk 1150 (circa) 1537
Flixton S. Mary and S. Catherine, S. Barbara Suffolk 1258, 1259 1536/7
Wimborne Double Monastery S. Mary and S. Cuthberga Dorsetshire 705 (traditional date), (or 715) 876 (possibly as late as the 960s)
Winchester S. Mary and S. Edburga Hampshire 963 1536, after being terminated in 1141 and then later refounded
Shaftesbury S. Mary and S. Edward and possibly All Saints Dorsetshire 888 (traditional date); it could have been founded any time between 880 and circa 893 1539
Barking S. Mary and S. Ethelburga Essex 666 (traditional date) 1539
The Minories S. Mary and S. Francis Middlesex 1293 1539
Nunkeeling S. Mary and S. Helen Yorkshire 1152 (circa) 1539 (circa)
Kirklees S. Mary and S. James Yorkshire 1100-1135 1539
Isenhagen S. Mary and S. John 1243 (circa) male; between March 24, 1259-September 14, 1261 female still extant
Godstow S. Mary and S. John the Baptist Oxford 1133 or earlier 1539
S. Johanniszelle unter Wildberg S. Mary and S. John the Evangelist 1130 (circa) 1555
Bredelar S. Mary and S. Laurentius Niedersachsen 1170 1196
Buxtehude, Altkloster S. Mary and S. Laurentius 1197 (circa) 1651 (circa)
Rosedale S. Mary and S. Lawrence Yorkshire 1130-1158 1536
Ellerton S. Mary and S. Lawrence (Dedication to S. Lawrence needs futher research). Yorkshire (North) 1189 or earlier 1537-8
Dartford (not the medieval name) S. Mary and S. Margaret Kent 1356-9 (circa) 1539 (circa)
Medingen S. Mary and S. Mauritius, S. Moritz 1228 (circa) still extant
Amesbury, Double Monastery S. Mary and S. Meilor Wiltshire 979 1177 refounded as part of the order of Fontevrault; 1186 nuns installed; final dissolution 1539.
Wykeham S. Mary and S. Michael Yorkshire 1153 or earlier 1539
Kirchback S. Mary and S. Michael 725 (circa)
Stamford S. Mary and S. Michael Northamptonshire 1154 or earlier 1536
Lyminge S. Mary and S. Mildred Kent 633 (circa) 964 or later.
Littlemore S. Mary and S. Nicholas / Edmund Oxford 1154 or earlier 1525
Schönau S. Mary and S. Nicholaus; S. Kilian 1189 (circa) 1564 (circa)