Browse Monasticon

Title Dedicationsort descending Region Date Founded Date Terminated
Mare de Deu dels Angels Catalonia 1240 Still Active
Tempul na Cailleachdubh Laois
S. Maria Antica, Veterana Apulia 1097 or earlier 1866
S. Caterina Piedmont 1397 1531 (See "Incorporated By," below).
S. Onofrio Marche 1243 (possibly 1248) 1553
S. Maria Colomata 1297 1575
Wentheim 760 (circa) 788
Mont-Sion Brabant 1432
Val-Duchesse Brabant 1368 or earlier
Quimper 6E 450 (circa)
Metz (S. Pierre-aux-Nonnains) 6K 690 (circa)
Eule 6L 1174 (circa)
les Allois 6J 1140-1158
Blesle 6C 885 (circa)
Gotteszell Niedersachsen (lower Saxony), district Hoexter 1240 (circa); possibly 1227 1564 (female); 1808 final dissolution
Cell Faindche Meath
S. Giorgio Apulia 1181 or earlier
S. Antonio Piedmont 1046 or earlier 1725 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Salvatore di Valdicastro e S. Biagio Marche Some time before S. Romualdo, since some traditions say that some nuns left S. Salvatore de Valdicastro to help found S. Romualdo
S. Lorenz 1327 (Schimmer 412) 1783 (Schimmer 415)
S. Maria della Fonte fuori della Porta S. Maria 1258 or earlier 1304 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Niedernburg 739 1806
la Villedieu 6U 1152 or earlier
Rivreulle Hainault 1126 at Bonne Esperance. Refounded: 1140-1182 at Rivreuille.
Notre-Dame-des-Pres 6G 1231
Gerigny 6G 1122 at Cuissy. Refounded: 1139-1145 at Gerigny, after 1148 at Rouez.
Avesnes-les-Bapaume 6M 1128
Brayelle-les-Annay, la 6M 1196. Refounded: circa 1250 the nuns moved locations owing to poverty: GC 2, n. xxvi, p.98.
Coppenberg 1181 (women only)
S. Gaudenzio Piedmont 1069
S. Caterina Marche
S. Caterina di Strada San Donato Emilia-Romagna 1468
S. Abbundio e Abbondanzio Tuscany 1095 or earlier 1810
S. Maria Maddalena
S. Caterina 1225 1867, August 17
S. Catherine 9K 1208
S. Quirin-a-Huy Liege 1285 (circa)
la Piete-Dieu 6G 1229 1440 given to monks
Hombeek Antwerp 1233
Bonmoutier 6K 670 (circa); Refounded: 11th for monks. 1000 or earlier
Charenton 6F 620 (circa) 1113, but refounded c. 1120 (see below)
S. Pedro and S. Pablo de Nazaoba 818 946 or earlier
S. Maria de Lleida Catalonia 1204 1717
Kilmana Cork
Name unknown Piedmont
S. Agata Marche 1430 or earlier
S. Maria di Fontana Emilia-Romagna 1300
S. Chiara 1500 or earlier
Beaulieu 6G 1140 (circa)