Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Region Date Founded Date Terminatedsort ascending
Niederschönenfeld 1241 or earlier 1842 or earlier
S. Hilari de Lleida 1150 (circa) 1836
S. Pere de les Puelles Saint Peter Catalonia 875-899 1835, but the community re-formed in a new location after the supressions of 1879.
S. Spirito 1245 or earlier 1827 (See "Incorporated By," below)
S. Katharine by the Tower S. Catherine Middlesex 1148, refounded in 1273. 1825. It was demolished to clear the land for St. Katherine's Docks.
Whittington's Hospital Holy Spirit / S. Mary and Michael and All Saints Middlesex 1424 1823 or later
Geseke S. Cyriacus; Blessed Virgin Mary 946-952 (circa) 1823
Purissima Concepcio Catalonia 1319 1822
S. Benedetto Novello 1640 as S. Benedetto Novella; earlier a male community called S. Benedetto, and before that an older female community named S. Maria Novella. 1820 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Maria Maddalena Mary Magdelene and the Holy Trinity Marche 1300 or earlier 1817
S. Giovanni John the Baptist 1325 or earlier 1816 (see "Incorporated By," below)
Heiligenrode S. Maria (Mary) 1181-1183 1816
S. Maria in Giulia Virgin Mary / Anastasius / Anne (second half of 17th century) LZ 806 1816
S. Francesco delle Donne 1253 (as a female community. Male community on the site dates from earlier) 1815. Became a women's school of some kind. Currently a ceramic factory.
Ahlen S. Mary Niedersachsen (lower Saxony), district Beckum 1468-1472 1814-16
S. Maria di Valdisasso Marche 700 (circa -- traditional date. See "Foundation Information," below), but the first known document dates from the 11th c. 1814 (circa): Supressed in the Napoleonic period, but assigned to the Capuchin Mothers (con. osservanza) in 1833, and is still extant.
Clarenberg S. Clara 1340 1812
S. Agnes S. Agnes 1419 1812
S. Elisabeth S. Elizabeth 1256 1812
Agnetenberg S. Agnes(?) 1458 1812
Gevelsberg S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1230 (circa) 1812
Heilbronn S. Clare 1293 1811
S. Chiara Saint Clare Tuscany 1811
Neuenheerse S. Mary, S. Saturnina 868 or earlier 1811
Galilaea 1472 (circa) 1811
S. Niccolao Saint Nicholas Tuscany 1330 or later 1811
Fröndenberg S. Mary, S. Mauritius 1230 (circa) 1811
Elten S. Vitus 967 1811
Herdecke S. Mary, S. Frederuna, and S. Benedict 810-819 (circa) 1811
S. Ruggero Apulia uncertain (in the 5th century when Bishop Ruggero of Canne lived or under the name S. Stefano in the 10th century) 1811
Metelen S. Cornelius, S. Cyprian 889 1811
Freckenhorst S. Mary, S. Peter, S. Boniface 851 (circa) 1810-11
Holthausen S. Mary 1243 1810, September 16
Marienbrink S. Mary 1427 1810, July
Gokirch S. Mary, S. John the Baptist, S. Odalricus 1228 1810, December 14
S. Luca LZ 1256 1810 -- absorbed by a male monastery
S. Giuliana 1253, September 1810 - becomes a granary. In 1816 the properties revert to the church, but the nuns were expelled again in 1869, and the monastery became a military hospital. Became a church once again in 1937.
S. Margherita 1050-1100 (circa) 1810 (see "Incorporated By," below)
S. Cosma e S. Damiano in Mica Aurea LZ 1234 1810 (later revived)
S. Pietro in Città Peter / Vivian LZ 600-699 (7th century -- traditional date) 1810 (later restored, still extant)
S. Lucia Lucy LZ 1477 or earlier 1810 (later restored, and still extant)
S. Maria della Massima Virgin Mary / Ambrose / Anthony / Stephen LZ 400 (circa -- traditional date) 1810 (later restored)
S. Chiara Santa Chiara Marche 1483 (circa) 1810 (14 July), by Napoleon. Restored after 4 years, but supressed again in 1860 when the Piedmontese occupied Umbria and Marche
S. Matteo Saint Mathew / Saint Benedict / Saint Cosmas / Saint Damian / Saint Lucy Tuscany 1027 1810
Vreden S. Felicitas 839 or earlier 1810
Gandersheim S. Anastasius; S. Innocent; S. John the Baptist 852 (circa) 1810
S. Marta Saint Martha / Felicity / Simplicius / Faustinus / Beatrice Tuscany 1327 or earlier 1810
Heiningen S. Mary, S. Peter and S. Paul 993-1002 (circa) 1810
S. Abbundio e Abbondanzio Tuscany 1095 or earlier 1810
Hadmersleben S. Peter; S. Paul; S. Stephan 961 1810