Browse Monasticon

Title Dedication Regionsort descending Date Founded Date Terminated
S. Maria de Pupula 1223 or earlier
Boxwell Uncertain uncertain
S. Maria Maddalena del Castellato 1269
Frauenthal Blessed Virgin Mary 994 (circa)
Weiher 1198
Königsberg (Augustinian tertiaries) 1380 1524
Gwitherin 600-699 (7th century) 800-899 (9th century -- needs verification)
Jemgum 1284
Durham 1018 or before 1066 or before
S. Caterina Vecchia 1258 or earlier 1643: The war between Pope Urban VIII and the Duke of Tuscany put the community in danger, so they moved to the city, taking over an older community (probably named S. Chiara) and refounding it as <C2671>.
Marienrode Blessed Virgin Mary 1125 (male); 1988 (female) 1806 (male); continues (female)
Drolshagen S. Mary, S. Clemens 1235 1803
S. Maria and S. Theodor S. Mary; S. Theodore (at least since the mid-fourteenth century); S. John the Evangelist 1157 (1273, according to Krämer) 1554 (1802, according to Krämer)
S. Nicholas de Ortis 1354 or earlier
S. Maria Magdalena (Regensburg) S. Mary Magdalene; S. Klara (Clare) 1228; before 1233 continues
Bergedorf S. Mary (1194/98) 1192-1198 1217-1226
Altomünster S. Peter; S. Paul; Blessed Virgin Mary; S. Alto; S. Salvator 740 (circa) 1803
S. Maria Magdalena Mary Magdalene
S. Francesco della Valle 1251, April 4 1329-1353 (See "Miscellaneous Information," below)
S. Maria 1244, June 14
Disibodenberg Disibod (needs verification) 1000 (circa) 1559
Bredelar S. Laurentius; later Mary 1169-1170 1196
S. Margherita 1784, or 1815 (See "Incorporated By," below)
Bodmin Uncertain uncertain
S. Leonardo 1492 or earlier
Frauensee Blessed Virgin Mary 1202 (circa) 1540
S. Maximin 1186 or earlier
Gnadenthal convent: S. Elisabeth; church: S. John the Baptist and S. John the Apostle 1276; 1313, according to Kramer. 1802-3
S. Giovanni delle Rocche
Hopels 1290
Beata Antonia 15th c.?
S. Giuliana 1253, September 1810 - becomes a granary. In 1816 the properties revert to the church, but the nuns were expelled again in 1869, and the monastery became a military hospital. Became a church once again in 1937.
S. Maria Magdalena Mary Magdalene (? requires verification) 1224 1525 (circa)
Marienthal S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1177 or earlier 1499 switched to a male crusading order; final dissoulution 1804
Himmelthron Blessed Virgin Mary 1343-1348 1525
Notre Dame du Lys 1244
S. Maria del Paradiso 1291 (circa) 1459 (See "Incorporated By," below)
Heiligen Kreuz (Holy Cross) Holy Cross 1233 continues
Klarholz S. Mary, S. Laurentius 1133 1803, May 2
Altenberg S. Nicholas; S. Michael 1179 or later 1802
Maihingen 1473
S. Caterina della Scala 1421
S. Catarina 1309
Rupertsberg S. Mary; S. Martin (a lesser patron of the church at Rupertsberg); S. Rupert; S. Hildegard 1147 1803
Bottenbroich Blessed Virgin Mary 1231 1448 (circa) for female community; 1802 final dissolution
Gesuate in Città di Castello
Bedwyn 900 - 950 or before 1066 or earlier
S. Chiara Clare of Montefalco (after 1492) 1290
Frauenalb Blessed Virgin Mary 1180 1598 / 1803
Church of the Holy Maccabees 1134-1178